Quick Necklace DIY

So tonight I actually got dinner done, worked out, and got my lunch together for tomorrow in time to craft a little. I know. I was just as shocked as you are.

Sometimes I look through my DIY stash (or hoard, whatever you wanna call it) and get overwhelmed with what to do. I love stocking up with cool things from Michael’s when they do their big sales. Case in point, I found 4 flat (ish) charms with different words on them. They had holes on either side to make into bracelets but the damn things won’t lay right that way. So I got inspired to make one into a necklace with this cute key I’ve been holding onto. Did I mention I like keys? Anyway, this is what you’ll need:

20140218-210537.jpg

-chain
-jump rings
-pliers
-key
-charm
-clasp

First, take your chain and figure out what length you’d like your necklace to be. Cut the chain. Then attach your key with a jump ring at the end of your necklace.

20140218-210751.jpg

Then, a few inches above your key, decide the placement of your charm. Mine said “Love.” I know, totally adorable. Anyway, add the jump rings and attach it to the chain.

20140218-211000.jpg

Then, add your clasp and another jump ring for it to…clasp on to. You’re done!

20140218-211117.jpg

Another New Year’s resolution I had was to create 100 DIY projects in 2014. This will be #8. Eventually I’ll make a post with everything I have so far, so watch out for that!

Leave a Reply

