Beach Reads

If you’re like me, you collect books like shoes or jewelry. I love owning books. It drives my mom crazy, considering I have a library card and a Kindle (that she gifted me). I like to take advantage of those two things as well, but there’s nothing like holding a book in your hands that you own. I also like to obsessively reread my favorite books, so owning them comes in handy.

I took multiple books with me for this vacation, but here are the top 3 right now. I recommend you check them out.

 

Image

– Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. Also known as “The Bloggess” in the online world, this book is completely hysterical. I laughed out loud in public, in private, and in front of my family. I felt like I was parting with a friend when the book ended. The book is hilarious, very real, and makes you realize that if you can laugh at the awful-good-funny-stupid-ridiculous things life throws at you, then you’re going to be okay. 

– Helter Skelter by Vincent Bugliosi with Curt Gentry. This book chronicles the Manson murders, the Family, the trial, and everything in between/after. Mr. Bugliosi was the prosecutor responsible for handling the case for the DA’s office in California in the 1970’s. I’ve been trying to read this book for 2 years, because it’s extremely long and, at times, very overwhelming. It completely draws you in and makes you wonder what really drove those people to murder innocent people in their own homes. It truly marked the end of the 60’s and in a sense, the end of the innocence. I finally got the book as a gift back in February for my birthday, and I’ve been hooked ever since. It’s bone chilling and well written. If you like true crime, this book is the end all be all.

-The Gods of Guilt by Michael Connelly. If you’ve seen “The Lincoln Lawyer” or read the book, you know how wonderful Michael McConnelly is. I watched the movie and then read the book (I know. Forgive me Father, for I have sinned.), and have adored this author ever since. I just started this book today, but it is about Mickey taking on a murder that involved the prostitute he’s been trying to help for years. Knowing Michael Connelly, I’ll be addicted and unable to put it down by tomorrow afternoon.

 

What are you guys reading this summer? Whether it be on a beach, on a lake, on your porch, or on your 30 minute lunch break, a book can sometimes be just the vacation you need. 

Leave a Reply

